ministry of Trinity Lutheran Church in the community of Alden Terrace began with a worship service on June 6, 1942, held at
the home of Mr. and Mrs. George Gundersen. The congregation was officially organized and a constitution was adopted on October
15, 1942. In November of the same year, Pastor Baker was called to serve as the first pastor of the congregation.
fast-growing congregation numbered 105 members by October 1943. The congregation continued to worship in the chapel in the
Gundersen’s basement until September 1944 when worship began in the new chapel built at the present site of the church
at Oliver Avenue and Everett Street in Valley Stream. A parsonage was built
in 1047 and the basement of the parsonage was used as a Sunday School chapel. By the fall of 1949, 180 children were enrolled
in classes that met in the basement and the attic of the parsonage.
the congregation outgrew its basement quarters and in August 1949 construction of the church sanctuary over the basement structure
began. It was a day of great rejoicing when the first worship service in the new sanctuary was held on Christmas Eve 1949.
Sunday School continued to grow until double sessions were needed. By 1954 there were nearly 60 Sunday School teachers on
the staff; the Junior Choir had 50 members and the Luther League 40 members. The time had come to expand. A groundbreaking
service was held in May of 1955 with 500 people in attendance. Construction of the new Christian Education Building was completed
in September of 1955 and was dedicated on November 17th of that year.
in March of 1968 a drive was launched to pay off the remainder of the church mortgage. The mortgage burning ceremony was held
on October 11, 1970.
has been blessed with a weekday Nursery School. The Nursery School is one way that Trinity ministers to the neighborhood.
93 years, on June 19th,
2005, St. Paul’s Church on South Grove Street in
Valley Stream, built in 1924, closed its doors. In the spring of 2004 St. Paul’s pastor of 20 years resigned
to assume other duties. The church lost congregants and it was difficult for the few remaining members to maintain it. The
council members of Trinity Lutheran and St. Paul’s over many meetings decided on a union between the two churches. On June 19th a last worship service was held at St. Paul’s, with members
of both congregations in attendance. After holding the final closing ceremony on the steps in front of St. Paul’s Church,
all members, of both Trinity and St. Paul’s, walked through the doors of Trinity Lutheran Church in a procession and
continued with worship services.
At the end of 2005 many suggestions for a name for our new church were submitted. The
winning entry was: New Hope Lutheran Church.
Pastors of Trinity Lutheran Church
Rev. William Baker
November 1942 – Sept. 1945
Rev. Rudolph Ramseth March 1946 –
Rev. Erling Nilssen
November 1950 – Nov. 1959
Rev. Hudson Clements February 1960
– April 1968
Rev. Louis Haseley
April 1968 – June 1987
Rev. Carla Meier
September 1987 - June 2001
Rev. Marianne Tomacek September 2001 – June
of St. Paul's Church
Arnold Keller 1913-1916
Rev. Walter Raccius 1917-1919
Fred Ressig 1920-1922
Rev. Carl W. Nutzhorn 1922-1924
Rev. Otto Becker
Richard Pankow 1864-1977
Rev. Fredrick Pillmeier 1977
Rev. Robert Rimbo
Rev. Steven Anderson 1982-1985
Rev. Gail Burwa
Rev. Paul Britton served as Vice Pastor between
1977,1978,1981-82, and 1985
Pastors of New Hope Lutheran Church
Rev. Jonathan Hopkins June 2003-June 2009